The Falcons cricketers have wrapped up their 2014/15 season with an impressive collection of flags and silverware at the annual WCCC Awards night, held this month.

The Falcons maintained strong positions all season in both the One Day and T20 competitions, eventually beating arch enemy Gisborne in each respective final campaign to take home the cups. Not surprisingly, given such a strong season by the team, individual accolades followed.

Falcons import Faele O’Connor opened the account, taking home the award for best batting average.  Captain Julia Boyle followed with the best bowling average and wicket keeper Carrie Brown rounded off proceedings with an impressive 18 dismissals for the season.

Not satisfied with her two premierships and bowling award, Julia Boyle topped off her impressive run with a fitting selection into the VCCC team of the season. Selected at No. 10, Julia was recognised for both her batting and bowling contributions but most rewarding was her recognition as Captain of the team. Kiwi Faele O’Connor and club champion Rebecca Hickmott were unlucky exclusions from selections.

The Darebin Women’s Sports Club congratulates all members of the cricket team for the 2014/15 season and looks forward to a back-up powerhouse performance for season 2015/16.

Below are the awards and the successful teams.

T20 Winners One Day Winners Best Batting Average Best Bowling Average Wicket Keeping Award
R Hickmott R Hickmott Faele O’Connor Julia Boyle Carrie Brown
M Phillips F O’Connor 7 Innings 61.1 overs 14 catches
F O’Connor M Phillips 286 runs 26 wickets 4 stumpings
L Potter J Boyle Highest Score 130 Best 7/38
J Boyle L Potter Average 95.33 Average 8.92
D Moore S Logan
S Logan D Moore
C Brown C Brown
D Smith K Hendy
L McClelland B Lang
E Boshoff D Smith
K Hendy A Reivers
Gisborne 4/86 off 20 overs Darebin 5/203 off 38 overs
Darebin 4/87 off 18.1 overs Gisborne 8/174 off 38 overs