Capt launch


How the 2013 AFL Women’s National Championships action unfolded…



Division One action on day one saw Western Australia comfortably beat New South Wales by 87 points after an impressive five-goal haul from WA key forward Chelsea Randall. Dana Hooker and Rheanne Lugg were also impressive around the ground for WA. Queensland struggled to keep up with the might of Victoria as the Vics ran out 111-point victors in their first outing. A six-goal effort from surprising goal kicker Jasmine Garner set the tone while the Falcons’Daisy Pearce, Melissa Hickey, Katie Brennan and Lauren Arnell were standouts.

ACT kicked off Division Two action with a 27-point win over Tasmania. Four goals to ACT’s Karina Demant helped keep Tasmania at bay while Holly Cogle, Luisa Marzetto and the Gill sisters, Hannah and Grace, contributed to the win. Arafura, a team made up of girls from northern Queensland, Papua New Guinea and Northern Territory, struggled to keep up with South Australia as SA claimed a comfortable 105-point win first up. Rachael Killian booted six goals while Courtney Cramey and Ruth Wallace were impressive around the ground.

In what was billed as a potential Grand Final preview, Victoria’s 10-goal first half in comparison to WA’s two carved the path for a comfortable 58-point win to the Vics on day two. Falcons Katie Brennan and Jasmine Garner again impressed inside foward 50 while Karen Paxman found plenty of the footy alongside Katie Lynes and Steph Chiocci. Although the game looked as though it could go either way at multiple stages, Queensland held strong to get home against New South Wales by 20 points. Queensland’s Natalie Thomas led the scorers with three goals while Kate Lutkins continued her impressive start to the competition.

In one of the closer games of the tournament, ACT caught up to a fast-starting South Australia to claim a nine-point victory. Karina Demant kicked another three goals to add to her tally for the victors with Heather Anderson and Victoria King instrumental in ACT’s win. Tasmania enjoyed a comfortable 67-point win over Arafura with Nietta Lynch and Anita Silva both kicking four goals for the winners. Rachel Crack and Amelia Dever-Kavanagh were other standouts in a solid win.

With one round left and spots still up for grabs in both divisions’ Grand Finals, day three saw the Grand Final hopefuls bring their best. A brilliant five-goal effort from Falcon Katie Brennan made sure of Victoria’s place in the Grand Final in a 67-point win over New South Wales. Steph Chiocci, Meg Hutchins and Daisy Pearce led the way to a strong victory. Western Australia’s seven goals to none in the first half had it on the way to a Grand Final date with Victoria as WA cruised to a 59-point win. Dana Hooker, Shelley Matcham and Aimee Schmidt each kicked three while Kara Donnellan, Emma Swanson and Rheanne Lugg were impressive in the middle of the park.

ACT earned a comfortable entry into the Division Two Grand Final with a 130-point belting of Arafura. Another bag of goals for Karina Demant, this time six, and four for Grace Gill kept the scoreboard ticking over while Hannah Gill, Rebbecca Mitchell and Julie McLean got the job done around the ground. South Australia claimed the other Grand Final spot with a 36-point win over Tasmania. Danielle Cresp’s five goals went a long way to getting the job done with Courtney Cramey and Rachael Killian again impressing.

Determined not to let the good work of the week go without reward, it was again Victoria that claimed the Division One premiership. Jasmine Garner was again impressive up forward for the Vics with three goals while Katie Brennan’s tireless work, Steph Chiocci’s loose ball-winning ability and Katie Loynes’ determination all played a huge part in the comfortable 37-point Grand Final victory. Darebin’s Katie Brennan was named best on ground.

With scores even at half time in the Division Two Grand Final, ACT turned the screw and blazed away from a gallant South Australia to win by 36 points. In what was a spirited full-team effort, Holly Cogle, Rebecca Hall and Rebecca Mitchell all stood out.

New South Wales’ Courtney Gum claimed the Division One best and fairest while Arafura’s Staci Trindle-Price earned best and fairest honours for Division Two.