Australian Rules Football

In 2018, the Darebin Falcons have a team competing VFL Women‘s competition. The Falcons also have two senior teams competing in the Northern Football and Netball League women’s competition – a team in Division 1 and Division 2.

In 2017, in the newly formed  VFL Women’s competition, Darebin won their fifth consecutive premiership, defeating Diamond Creek at Etihad Stadium.

Before this, the Falcons participated in the VFLW and our Premier Division team have participated in every grand final since 2005 and hold a record breaking undefeated run from 2006-2010. The Premier Division team also went back to back in 2013-2017. The Division 1 team (formerly Premier Reserves) won the Premiership in 2007, and 2009 to 2011.

At a national level, 12 Falcons over two years were drafted to the Melbourne Demons and the Western Bulldogs in 2013 and 2014 to participate in the AFL Women’s Exhibition Match, held in Women’s round.  In 2016, the AFLW was launched with 16 players being listed. Darebin star Darcy Vescio won the goal kicking award playing for Carlton. And Darebin player’s Daisy Pearce and Lauren Arnell were respective captains for Melbourne and Carlton.

The second season of the eight team AFLW saw the Western Bulldogs win the Premiership against Brisbane at Ikon Park, with Darebin players Katie Brennan, who was also captain, as well as Aasta O’Connor, Elise O’Dea and Nicole Callinan as listed players.

If you are interested in playing Australian Rules Football or would like to know more about the Falcons you can contact our Football Representative. All players of all abilities and backgrounds are welcome. For more information about the training please contact us.